Tags

, , , , , , ,

This summer I want to read more books. I’m not much of a reader or well, I do read, but most of the time just my favorites over and over again.
I’m still trying to figure out which genre I really like. The last book that I started and finished (yes, I said finished, because sometimes I just can’t go on after 30 pages haha, shame on me) is One Day. And I absolutely loved it!

The book is about Dexter and Emma. You’ll read what happends to them on the 15th of July for twenties years. But you don’t feel like there are big gaps, because in that one day you will also find out about some stuff that happened over the year. Some chapters you will read through Emma’s point of view, some through Dexter’s point of view.

It is a beautiful book about friendship, love and life. It all sounds very sweet and soft, but actually it is really realistic. It is also about the hard parts, questions about life, the struggles and the sarcasm we make around it.
It all starts when Dexter and Emma are just graduated. They end up in Emma’s appartment together, but somehow decide to stay friends. I won’t spoil anything, because else it’s no fun reading anymore. But there will happen A LOT. It isn’t predictable at all, especially not the end.

I loved every page, so this book definitely has got me excited to read more if I see how much joy it brought me to read One Day. Big recommandation! The movie with Jim Sturgess as Dexter Mayhew and Anne Hathaway as Emma Morley is what got me reading this book in the first place. Great movie, great book!
b15391d54ffc477d8f5d088fb2830f23

I got myself a new favorite, yay! If you are going to read it: I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did!

